Board of Education

board photo

The 2019 Glen Rock Board of Education

Front Row: Megan Findley, President Sharon Scarpelli, Rona McNabola, Sanjiv Ohri Vice President, Kevin Brennan

Back Row: Robert Scherer, Edmund Hayward, Bryon Torsiello, Sheldon Hirschberg, Board Secretary/Business Administrator Michael Rinderknecht, Bruce Watson Interim Superintendent

 


About the BOE
The Glen Rock Board of Education is comprised of a 9-member board of trustees, the chief school administrator and the board secretary/district business administrator.The Board will commence all meetings at 7 p.m. in the Dr. Dario Valcarcel Media Center, Glen Rock High School, 400 Hamilton Avenue, for the purposes of recessing to Closed Work Session. The BOE will reconvene at 8 p.m. for the purposes of conducting either a Committee of the Whole work session or a Regular Board Meeting. 

Meeting dates can be found via the Calendar tab up top and on the Meeting Schedule dropdown page at left along with the Agendas and Minutes, Policies and Regulations, Resources and Useful Links page.


Rules for Public Input

Audience members attending Board of Education meetings are permitted to voice their opinions on school-related topics at specified times during the regular meeting. There are two opportunities for public comment during both the Committee of the Whole sessions and Regular Board Meetings. The fifteen-minute period allotted at the beginning of the meeting is for audience comments on agenda items only. The floor will be open again at the end of the meeting for audience input on any topic concerning the schools.

When addressing the Board of Education, please follow these procedures:

 

  • After being officially recognized by the Board President, state your name and address.
  • You may speak for up to two minutes. If speaking at the beginning of the meeting, you must limit your comments to an item on the agenda for that meeting. If speaking at the end of the meeting, you may speak on any topic. The Board of Education may extend the time allowed for public comment at its discretion.
  • All comments must be addressed to the Board of Education and not to fellow audience members.

Meeting agendas are posted on the "Agendas and Minutes" link of the Board of Education homepage on the Friday preceding a regularly scheduled Board Meeting. 

Please click here for a copy of Regulation 1120, which sets forth rules for participation by the public.

BOE Contact Information
 Pres. Sharon Scarpelli scarpellis@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2021
 V.P. Sanjiv Ohri ohris@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2019
 Kevin Brennan brennank@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2019
 Megan Findley findleym@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2020
 Edmund Hayward haywarde@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2020
 Sheldon Hirschberg hirschbergs@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2019
 Rona McNabola mcnabolar@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2020
 Robert Scherer schererr@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2021
 Bryon Torsiello torsiellob@glenrocknj.org Term expires 2021

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.